What keeps me awake at night

Starry-eyes

  • Food. Sometimes when I eat too much food after 7 pm, I can have trouble sleeping. I would feel heavy and queasy. Drinking water or doing some yoga is not very helpful so I just wait and promess myself not to eat that late again. Also sometimes, if a delicious cake is standing right in the next room, I might think of it (not in purpose though) and might wake up to eventually eat a piece of it. So yes generally, food keeps me awake at night.
  • Good series. They came up with an expression that describes this guilty pleasure: “binge watching”. Although I read somewhere that there is no such a thing as a “guilty pleasure”. If it makes you happy, then do it. I did it a few times I admit.
  • A good book. Like good series, a good book can have all my attention until I finish it. It will keep me awake at night but also will disturb me during the day because all my feelings will be linked to it. My main focus will be on the books characters instead on real people, but at the end of it I will have learned lots of stuff about human nature. Then, everything is back in order and I “wake up”, in a manner of speaking.
  • Songs. When I discover a band or a singer that blows my mind, I can spend the night listening to it. Recently, I have spent the whole night listening to Princess Chelseas songs. Again. And again.
  • Pain. Of course, physical pain will keep you awake. Even if you take pills that could kill an elephant. However, you might never wake up.
  • The Internet. That thing is crazy. TOO MANY STUFF TOO MANY PEOPLE.
  • Noises. Neighbours. Streets noises. A baby crying. Whatever. It drives me insane.
  • Drawing/Painting/Writing. I must confess it is never easy to start but when I do start to create, I lose the sense of time and I can spend days & nights & days making stuff. I always end up fulfilled, proud an full of joy so I wonder why it took me so long to get back to work.
  • Love. The best part. Being awake at night because of the love one is probably the best thing in the entire world and I would rather have no sleep at all than not living these precious moments.

…And of course, like anybody else, my insecurities. How is it going to be tomorrow? Will I ever find peace with myself? What did I do wrong? Do I have to rethink my life? Why am I here? Where am I going? Should I wake up early to buy some bread? Should I stay in bed? Why did I say that instead of that? And so on.

Palmier

Leave a Reply

